Child & Family Studies (CFS) and Education

Kids smiling in circleThe Napa Valley College Child and Family Studies Program prepares students to work as teachers with young children in public and private programs. The Child and Family Studies Program may also serve as a beginning for students planning to attend a four-year college to obtain a Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Education. Upon completion of the A.S. Degree in Child and Family Studies at Napa Valley College, the student is eligible for the California Child Development Teacher Permit available through the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing.

The program also offers several certificates and has recently added a new Associate Degree for Transfer in Early Childhood Education (an SB 1440 degree).  The program will soon offer a certificate in Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender (LGBT) Studies specifically designed for those that teach children through 12th grade, and those interested in working in agencies that serve the LGBT community.

 mom and kidThe program integrates theory, research and practice from various disciplines—among others: psychology, anthropology, humanities, and behavioral science—through interdisciplinary courses and practicum exercises. Students develop a thorough understanding of family systems and the varied socio-cultural contexts in which children and families live and grow.


 What can I do with a degree in Child and Family Studies? 

Students who obtain a degree in Child and Family Studies will be able to:

  • apply for their Child Development Permit through the California Commission on teacher Credentialing
  • apply for transfer to a 4 year institution
  • apply for positions working with children and families
  • continue their education and work toward a K-12 teaching credential 

Napa Valley College career technical education programs are open and available to all students regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression. Admission requirements for Napa Valley College career technical education programs are described in the current Napa Valley College catalog. The Napa Valley College Title IX officer is Laura Ecklin (Phone: 707-256-7105, Room 1544B). The Section 504 compliance officer is Rebecca Scott (Phone: 707-256-7438, Room 1735-C).

Child and Family Studies
Faculty & Staff

Professor Dianna Chiabotti
Program Coordinator
Office 1031-Q
707-256-7764
dchiabotti@napavalley.edu

Jenny Bloom
CFS Instructor
jbloom@napavalley.edu

Michelle Burhorn
CFS Instructor
mburhorn@napavalley.edu

Susan Edwards
CFS Instructor
sedwards@napavalley.edu


Silvia Galvis
CFS Instructor
sgalvis@napavalley.edu

Jean Goulart
CFS Instructor
jgoulart@napavalley.edu

Edward Lewis
CFS Instructor
elewis@napavalley.edu

Greg Miraglia
CFS/LGBT Instructor
Dean of Career Tech Ed
gmiraglia@napavalley.edu

Arren Molina-Gassen
CFS Instructor
Child Dev Center Director
707-256-7045
amolina@napavalley.edu

Faye Smyle
CFS Instructor
Dean of Instruction
fsmyle@napavalley.edu

  Program Secretary:
Stacy Hitchcock
Career Tech Ed (CTE) Secretary
Office 1003-B (CJT)
707-256-7703
shitchcock@napavalley.edu

kids drawing